In Their Own Words

In Their Own Words: What this Young Girl Does with her Life will Make You Want to Do Something

image
Everyone is lucky to be gifted in one way or another but it takes effort and determination to discover and leverage your talents - Miss Mwaura

As part of my leadership challenge of inspiring other people to find and use their voice, unleash their potentials and track their handicapping beliefs, OneStepBeyond reaches out to one Faith Mwaura who speaks emphatically about her passion with modeling. Please read on.

OneStepBeyond: Tell us who you are and a bit on your background.
Fay: My name is Faith Mwaura, 21. I really love to be called Miss Mwaura. I am a Bsc. Agribusiness Management student at the Njoro-based Egerton varsity. Passionate, go getter, enthusiastic, social, God fearing and a fanatic to the welfare of humanity. I’m the second born in a genteelly humble family in Kiambu County. I count the role of my parents for the good character I have and the vigour to push on and attain beyond the limits. Thank you mum and dad.

OSB: So what is your passion in life?
Fay: My passion lies in the fields of beauty, fashion, salsa and of import modeling. Modeling is a part of me, and being at the runway is always the best moment of my life’s experiences. Always quenching my passion’s thirst. The urge to make it better every time and to help upcoming models and see them succeed is my best motivation.

OSB: I understand you are really passionate about modelling above all else, how did it begin? And what does it entails?
FAY: Well, modeling is the activity done by models on the runway to showcase their talents, designer’s work, a contest or promoting a product or company.
It all began even before I realized it was inborn..hahaa. I used to show some catwalks to my peers. Due to my remote primary environment, I never did any runway thing until high school which was just a fashion show. I may say I got a bit serious in campus where I joined a modeling class.

image

OSB: Sounds great miss Mwaura, have you since engaged in any sort of contest and if so, what was your experience?
FAY: My first pageant was in first year which was good performance first time on the runway. Second year, I contested on the same miss Agriculture Egerton but it didn’t turn out well. I may say lack of proper preparation and good designs resulted to the fail. Obviously it doesn’t feel good to fail but on the other hand failure triggers success and seriousness. My talent and passion are still part of me. I’m positive I’ll reach my dreams.

image

OSB: It is impossible to face modeling as a lone ranger. Who has been helping you along the way?
FAY: My family mostly my elder siblings Sam and Jeremy. Angela Mumbi was my first teacher, Joan Tonui has always been there to guide me in this industry. Am grateful.

image

OSB: Any stumbling blocks so far?
FAY: Challenges in modeling are very many and very wild. It needs one to be well funded with cash to support monetary needs like buying heels, clothes and accessories – attire . For you to join an agency most cases you need cash. Also vigorous training that needs one to be persistent and consistent to learn the obvious in this field. There are normally hungry hawks ready to take advantage of the naive new faces.
The secret to survive in the field is letting God manage, being passionate and carrying your principles all along the rader.

image

OSB: And what are you currently doing
FAY: I’m currently into commercial and runway modeling, doing my undergraduate of course, which I take seriously. I’m hoping to enroll young models and lead them where I can.

OSB: Future plans?
FAY: Owning a beauty parlour is a must, I’m confident. Opening a fashion house/agency, which might result to a multi-talent school God is faithful. Entrepreneurial skills gleaned from my course will help me manage or fund my enterprises that I hope to start.
And of course am still going to contest any pageant that grab my attention.

image

OSB:  Likes and dislikes?
FAY: I love hiking, making new fruitful friends, doing lots of adventure. I can’t forget photography. I hate snobbery and lazy heads.

OSB: Any other story I may not have been keen on?
FAY: Miss Mwaura is a business oriented woman. I have my small shoes business that I hope will lead me into the business world. Having the honour of being the Marketing/Promotion Director to Daframa Enterprises Kenya will be a good start for me. I yearn to end the poverty and create jobs to the many unemployed youths. That is another driver of my business dreams.

image

OSB: Your parting shot?
FAY: I can’t say I achieved much nor nothing, to my experience. If anyone advances confidently in the direction of their dreams, and endeavor to live the life they imagined. They will meet success unexpected in common hours.
Do what you believe in… You’re a dreamer to reach the stars and if you miss the stars you grab a handful of clouds.

Thank you so very much Miss Mwaura for recording your probable story with my blog, the only place that affirms and communicate your worth and potentials. Go one step beyond.

#Writing Is A Labour Of Love ☺

42 thoughts on “In Their Own Words: What this Young Girl Does with her Life will Make You Want to Do Something

  1. Future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.Miss Mwaura I acknowledged your passion.

    Like

  2. Wishing you all the best God can grant as u’ve spelt out that;
    “””Owning a beauty parlour is a must, I’m confident. Opening a fashion house/agency, which might result to a multi-talent school God is faithful.”””
    (+) much much more.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my I’m surprisingly moved by your support guys.. Words can’t express my joy. Thank you all!!!! Am grateful to Moses Auma, my personal motivator for the chance to share my story. May God bless your work. Such an honour. Thank you.

      Like

  3. Proud of you my dear. Never give up you have great potential, follow your heart and you will go places. You always have my support.

    Like

  4. This is lovely……. Fay always catwalking in class back in primary school. Gal your are such an inspiration. Keep up the spirit miss

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Awesome story, a story of life, conjured with positive heart provoking, a motivator, many are the stories hidden and of the same diamention, may your story crisscross different sphere of this wonderful world and teach in the little possible way, thanks for this your on the ladder,,,

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment